The history of Hotel Gilde
The building has had several uses. In 1751 the complex functioned as a Roman Catholic vicarage. The church was situated where the right part of the current building is now. The sisters of the Congregation of the Sisters of Charity set up a kindergarten and a sewing school here in 1856.
In 1896, construction started on the Nieuwstraat - 'new street'. What was the church and house were demolished to make way for a new hospital. Account was taken of the 15th century building style in the design of the hospital. The hospital was ready for use in 1897.
From 1958, the senior citizens' residence the Stichting Bejaardenzorg St Lebuinus was located in the Nieuwstraat. In the period that followed, the building was used as a home for former fighters of the Dutch East Indies, and up to 1996 it was used as a shelter for people unable to live at home.
The hotel's architecture is unique and it has kept the ambiance of the past. The authentic lead glass windows and the beautiful large staircases with galleries give the hotel a historic charm.